[šŸ‘©ā€šŸ’»] Updates

Hey book witches! It’s been a majorly hot minute since I’ve posted. Life sort of was turned upside down for me earlier this year when COVID-19 ravaged the world and set all our day to day lives in a different direction. As things have gotten more back to normal and I’ve figured out a new routine, I’m finally back to blogging and I’ve thoroughly missed this outlet.

So let’s get on with some updates, shall we?

First, this year has been a great year for reading, and a decent year for writing, for me. I’ve almost surpassed my reading goal for the year and I’ve discovered so many new books I’ve fallen in love with. I even went on a huge rom-com binge this year reading more of that genre than I have in the last 10 years. I also was lucky enough to be asked to write the short story, which I entitled The Clearing, for the Lichen and Limestone quarterly Into the Woods box earlier this year. To be asked to be the author for that box was one of the highlights of my year, and kicked my ass into gear to work on my WIP. It’s no where near where it needs to be, but it’s leaps and bounds from where it was. The Clearing was a story that came to me whilst watching YouTube videos with my husband one night, and everything just fell into place after that. It was such a satisfying feeling, and I won’t lie, I bawled like a baby when I received my copy in the mail. To hold that story in my hands, there are no words to describe that feeling. I can only hope one day to hold my WIP in my hands in the same way.

Second, I finally decided to put my graphic design knowledge and work experience to use and I started my own digital design print on demand shop on RedBubble. I am currently looking for a different outlet to source product from, but for now, you can browse desgins on my RedBubble or on my Instagram. If you weren’t aware, I’ve been graphic/digital designing for over 15 years. I even did my co-op studies in highschool at a graphic design shop, and my first two years of college featured many graphic design courses. It’s been a lot of fun putting the knowledge I’ve learned over the years to use.

The third fun update I have is that I started twitch streaming! I’ve always been an avid gamer, and my husband recently finished building me the most beautiful purple gaming PC, so I decided to put myself out there and start streaming. Feel free to follow my Twitch to get updates and notifications for when I go live and come hang out in stream with me!

The fourth update, I started a BookTube! So, I’m really bad at posting to it, and I’ve only got two videos up, but I’m working on getting more consistent and getting more posts up. You can find the link to my channel here – be sure to drop a subscription and turn on notifications so you can see when my next video goes live!

I’m certain there are other things I’m forgetting, but, it’s late, and I’m ready to curl up with my current read (Among Beasts and Briars by Ashley Poston) and relax until I fall asleep. I promise I will be posting again soon, and much, much more often.

Thanks for spending some of your day with me, it means the world to me you’ve taken time out of your day to join me on my book blog journey. As always, may your coffee be strong, your life be cozy, and your books transport you somewhere magical.

And remember, keep it cozy, magical, and caffeinated, witches!

Stay spooky!

J.

Leave a comment